The Florida Freight Advisory Committee (FLFAC) advises Florida on freight issues, priorities, projects and funding needs for freight improvements, and elevates freight transportation as a critical component of the state’s economic vitality and competitiveness.

Contact Information

Rickey Fitzgerald
Freight & Multimodal Operations Manager
(850) 414-4702

Consistent with Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21) and Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act, the FLFAC will consist of cross-section representation of public and private sector freight stakeholders. Stakeholders include representatives of ports, shippers, carriers, freight-related associations, the freight industry workforce, the transportation department of the State, and local governments.


  • Build on and leverage professional networks between statewide freight stakeholders with parallel interests.
  • Provide materials and media that can help raise awareness and education of freight related initiatives.
  • Provide a forum for stakeholders and FDOT to share lessons learned.
  • Provide information that can help facilitate compliance with current federal law and regulations relating to freight planning and planning performance measures.
  • Participate in the development and prioritization of projects that comprise the comprehensive, integrated, coordinated multimodal freight network for Florida.

Chair: Amy Miller

Vice Chair: Robert Midgett

Executive Director: Rickey Fitzgerald

Port Director at the Port of Pensacola, Florida, one of three business enterprises owned and operated by the City of Pensacola (the other two being Pensacola International Airport and the local natural gas utility Pensacola Energy). In her role as Port Director, Miller leads all aspects of the port’s day-to-day operations, as well as its long-range strategic and capital planning efforts.
Following a successful career in print journalism, Miller entered the seaport industry in 1993. She worked in communications and business development at the ports of South Louisiana and Gulfport, Mississippi, before joining Port of Pensacola in 2002. In 2006, she was named Assistant Port Director and in 2013, Mayor Ashton Hayward appointed her to the position of Port Director. She is the first women to lead Pensacola’s port.
Miller currently serves on the Board of Directors of the American Association of Port Authorities, is President of the Gulf Ports Association of the Americas and is Secretary-Treasurer of the Florida Seaport Transportation Economic Development (FSTED) Council. Her civic involvements include serving as a mentor in the University of West Florida’s Executive Mentor Program, President of the Institute for Women in Politics of Northwest Florida, and on the Board of Directors of United Way of Escambia County and local health & nutrition non-profit Appetite 4 Life.
Miller earned her undergraduate degree in Journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University.

Vice Chair Robert Midgett

Education:           UCF Bachelor Science- Political Science/Pre Law

UNF CTL program graduate

UNF  Freight Broker graduate

UNF Executive Development program graduate

Currently enrolled at Florida Coastal School of Law- Transportation focus

Affiliations:    ASTL


Propeller Club- Jacksonville

FLA DOT Freight Academy- Guest lecturer

Former member of Florida Congressman Stephen Wise Transportation focus committee

Meet Our Committee

David Anderton

Joe Arbona

Mark Bontrager

Pete Coultas

Tony Cugno

John Dohm

Richard Dubin

Scott Fernandez

Gary Goldfarb

Tisha Keller

Toy Keller

Eric Lindstrom

Bob O’Malley

Stan Parkes

Barbara Pimentel

Troy Post

Ryan Stoeger

Greg Stuart

Jake Swab

Malcolm Wade

Mary Beth Washnock