Florida Spaceport
Florida Spaceport, SpaceX

 

The newest iteration of SpaceX’s workhorse Falcon 9 rocket will make its debut today (May 10), and you can watch the maiden liftoff (and landing attempt) live.

The first “Block 5” Falcon 9 is scheduled to launch the Bangabandhu 1 communications satellite for the government of Bangladesh today at 4:12 p.m. EDT (2012 GMT) from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. And the two-stage rocket’s first stage will attempt to land on a robotic “drone ship” off the Florida coast shortly after liftoff. You can watch the action live directly via SpaceX’s website.

The launch window opens at 4:12 p.m. EDT and runs until 6:22 p.m. EDT (2222 GMT). There’s just a 20 percent chance that bad weather will spoil the attempt, officials with the U.S. Air Force’s 45th Weather Squadron said on Monday (May 7).